Tech Tip: Use Pixelapse for visual collaboration

Posted on:

pixelapseAt Centrix, we are always on the lookout for collaboration tools that maximise productivity and enhance team collaboration in every organisation.

We’ve recently discovered a visual collaboration tool called Pixelapse, which is a great tool for your creative team.

Pixelapse allows version control and collaboration workflow for open source and private design projects. It’s an ideal tool for designers so they can share and/or collaborate on design projects easily and seamlessly.

How it works:

Once installed on your machine, Pixelapse will create a special folder on your hard drive. This folder will hold all file revisions and can be viewed and managed by your authorised users. Every user will receive an instant notification, with a preview of the project, when a modification has been made.

There’s no problem if you’re working on multiple computers as you can install the Pixelapse app on up to 5 computers, and changes made on one computer will automatically be synced to the others.

Why use Pixelapse:

  • It supports cross-platform. It doesn’t matter whether you’re using a Mac or a Windows-based machine, Pixelapse is built to work on both platforms.
  • No complicated interface. It’s really simple to use and requires no new language/commands to learn. Your team will be able to work right away.
  • It guarantees a high level of interoperability. The App supports 50+ file formats and is compatible with the most popular design software/tools, including Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Fireworks, Graffle and Sketch App. It also renders front-end text files in CSS, HTML, Javascript, and more.

pixelapse supported formats

If you use an unsupported file format, Pixelapse will still track and backup your revisions but no image previews will be available.

  • Work in real-time, even offline. When working with a team, every member will get instant notifications when a user makes changes to a project. This feature ensures everyone is in the loop, and anyone can give quick feedback when needed. All discussions and project milestones are available to everyone. Any change you make whilst offline will be uploaded as soon as you’re connected to the internet.
  • You control user access with permissions. You can specify the level of visibility that the invitee has on a project.

pixelapse user control

  • No version management issues. Pixelapse securely stores a history of every modification you make to a project. This makes it easy for anyone to go back at any time to check previous comments and suggestions made on the project.
  • Your projects are stored safely. All your files are encrypted and stored securely on Amazon’s Simple Storage Service (S3) with AES-256 encryption. Your designs are always private unless you explicitly make them public. You may also choose to sync your files in your Dropbox account or other external sync services.

pixelapse sync

Pixelapse was recently acquired by Dropbox, however remains a standalone app for now. This means you can still download a free desktop version from the website or subscribe to a plan for your private projects. Each plan comes with a free 14-day trial period so you can ensure Pixelapse suits your needs before committing to the subscription fee.